- The Published Price Tag: What US$530.50 Covers
- What the Issuer Does Not Publish
- Cost Components at a Glance
- Retake Purchases and Budgeting for a Second Attempt
- Eligibility Rules That Affect Your Spending
- Study Time as a Cost: The 40-Hour Estimate
- Renewal Costs Over a Five-Year Cycle
- Making the Case to Your Employer
- Weighing Cost Against Career Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current US bundle of application, online study guide and exam is priced at US$530.50.
- Member versus nonmember pricing and a standalone exam price are not published by the issuer.
- The exam is 150 questions, three hours, 70% to pass, with a required proctor.
- Two retake purchases are permitted within one year of application approval.
The Published Price Tag: What US$530.50 Covers
When candidates search for the Certified Hospitality Trainer price, they usually want one number. The current published figure for the US store is US$530.50, and it is sold as a bundle: the certification application, the online study guide and the exam, delivered under the ExamFlex product label. The American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI) administers the credential, AHLA owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store where the bundle is sold.
That single figure is useful because it removes the most common budgeting headache in professional certification: stacking separate application fees, material fees and exam fees. Here, the three items are purchased together. If you are still deciding whether the credential suits your career, our overview of what CHT certification is and the CHT requirements guide are good places to confirm fit before you spend anything.
What the Issuer Does Not Publish
A trustworthy cost breakdown has to be honest about gaps. Several details that candidates often ask about are simply not public for this credential, and we would rather flag them than guess:
- Member versus nonmember split. The listing shows the bundle figure above, but the issuer does not publish a member/nonmember pricing structure, and backend price tiers are not mapped to membership categories. Do not assume a discount exists, and do not assume it does not.
- Standalone exam price. No separate price for the exam alone is published, so you cannot reliably calculate how much of the bundle goes to the application versus the study guide versus the exam.
- Proctor vendor and proctoring fees. The product requires a proctor, but the separate proctor vendor is unverified. Whether any proctoring arrangement carries an additional charge is not stated in the public listing.
- Observed pass rate. The issuer does not disclose one. For what is and is not known, see our CHT pass rate breakdown.
If any of these matter to your budget, contact the issuer directly before purchasing and ask for written confirmation.
Cost Components at a Glance
| Cost Item | What Is Published | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Application + online study guide + exam bundle (US) | US$530.50 | Published |
| Member / nonmember pricing | No split published | Unverified |
| Standalone exam price | Not published | Unverified |
| Retake purchases | Two permitted within one year of application approval; price not stated here | Confirm at purchase |
| Proctor | Required; separate vendor unverified | Confirm any extra fees |
| Recertification (every five years) | US$204 | Published |
| Study time | Provider estimate of about 40 hours (preparation, not exam time) | Estimate only |
Retake Purchases and Budgeting for a Second Attempt
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. That window matters for budgeting. Your one-year clock starts at application approval, not at the day you buy the bundle and not on the day you first sit the exam. If you plan to buy early and study slowly, you could burn through a meaningful part of that retake window before your first attempt.
The public listing does not tell us the price of a retake purchase, so we will not invent one. Practically, plan for two scenarios when you budget:
- Pass on the first attempt. Your core outlay is the bundle price.
- Need a retake. Add the cost of a retake purchase, which you should confirm with the issuer, plus any additional preparation resources you decide to use.
The exam itself is 150 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score, so a retake means repeating the full sitting. Our passing score guide explains what the 70% threshold means in practice, and our difficulty guide helps you judge whether you are likely to need that second purchase.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat retakes as a safety net you can use at leisure. They are tied to a one-year window from application approval, so schedule your first attempt with enough runway to use a second and third attempt if needed.
Eligibility Rules That Affect Your Spending
The bundle includes an application, and application approval is required before you test. That makes eligibility a cost issue: buying the bundle before confirming you qualify is the most avoidable way to waste money.
The current global product qualifies these positions:
- Property-level training director
- Corporate-level training executive
- Department head at a hospitality company
The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. An executive certification or a degree from an accredited institution each removes six months. The product does not explicitly confirm that the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say the reductions waive the qualifying-position requirement. If your eligibility depends on stacking, ask the issuer in writing first.
The application also involves character and employment references. The exact number of references is unverified, so check the application form itself. Full details are in our eligibility and prerequisites guide.
Study Time as a Cost: The 40-Hour Estimate
Money is only part of the investment. The online study guide is sold with the bundle, and a provider's estimate puts study at approximately 40 hours. That figure is preparation time, not mandatory training and not exam duration. Your own number may be higher or lower depending on how much of the content you already apply at work.
One practical way to spend those hours wisely is to sequence the eleven exam competencies around where your daily experience is thinnest. The issuer publishes the competencies but not percentage weights, so you cannot prioritize by weighting. Prioritize by your gaps instead:
Foundations and Business Case
- A Case for Training and Development
- Training and Development as an Investment
- Practice articulating cost-benefit logic, since this vocabulary recurs throughout the exam
Analysis and Design
- Assessing Training Needs
- Instructional Design
- Training Tools and Techniques
Evaluation and Trainer Development
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Training the Trainers
Workforce Programs and Review
- Orientation and Socialization
- Hourly Employee Training
- Mentoring
- Supervisory and Management Development
- Full review and timed practice
For a deeper plan, see our CHT study guide, and for a competency-by-competency walkthrough, the complete guide to all 11 content areas. You can also test your readiness with the CHT practice tests before you commit to a testing date.
Renewal Costs Over a Five-Year Cycle
A fair cost picture includes what happens after you pass. The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle, and the current official recertification fee is US$204. Issuer renewal guidance expressly includes CHT among credentials requiring 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter.
Two cautions here. First, the requirement is expressed in points, not CEU hours, and points should not be automatically converted into hours. Second, the cost of earning those points (courses, conferences, or other qualifying activities) is not included in the US$204 fee and varies by what you choose. Many trainers earn points through work they already do, but confirm what qualifies against the issuer's current renewal table before assuming so.
Making the Case to Your Employer
Because the credential is aimed at training directors, corporate training executives and hospitality department heads, many candidates are in a position to ask for employer sponsorship. A short internal proposal tends to work better than a verbal request. Cover:
- The itemized price. The bundle covers application, online study guide and exam in one purchase, which simplifies approval.
- The recurring obligation. Mention the US$204 recertification fee and the 50-point requirement so the commitment is not a surprise in year five.
- The competency fit. Link the eleven competencies to real programs you run, such as orientation, hourly employee training, mentoring, and supervisory and management development.
- The measurement angle. The exam covers measuring and evaluating training and treating training as an investment, which are exactly the skills finance teams want from a training function.
If you are still gathering job-market context for that conversation, see our pages on CHT jobs and the salary guide. We do not quote salary figures here because no verified earnings data accompanies this credential in the issuer materials.
Weighing Cost Against Career Value
Whether US$530.50 plus the recertification fee is worthwhile depends on your role and goals. The credential is positioned for people who already lead training in hospitality, so the strongest return tends to come from using the competencies you have formally validated: building a business case for training, assessing needs, designing instruction, evaluating outcomes and developing other trainers.
Be realistic about what the credential can and cannot promise. The issuer does not publish pass-rate data, and we do not claim a guaranteed pay increase. Instead, treat the cost as an investment in documented expertise and weigh it using the framework in our ROI analysis of the CHT certification. If timing is part of your decision, our exam dates and scheduling guide covers how to plan around your application approval.
Where your preparation money should go first
Because the exam spans eleven competencies from Training and Development as an Investment through Supervisory and Management Development, the best-value preparation is whatever closes your weakest competencies.
- Use the bundled online study guide as your baseline.
- Add timed practice only where self-testing shows gaps.
- Avoid paying for resources that duplicate what you already know from daily work.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current published US bundle, which includes the application, online study guide and exam, is US$530.50. The issuer does not publish a standalone exam price or a member versus nonmember split, so confirm at checkout.
In the current US listing they are sold together as one bundle. No separate itemized breakdown of the application, study guide and exam is published.
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. A retake is a separate purchase, and the listing reviewed here does not state its price, so confirm it with the issuer.
The current official recertification fee is US$204, on a five-year cycle. Renewal also requires 50 recertification points, and the cost of earning those points is separate.
A proctor is required, but the separate proctor vendor is unverified and the public listing does not say whether any proctoring charge applies. Ask the issuer before purchasing.