- The current global Certified Hospitality Trainer ExamFlex product specifies a 70% passing score on a 150-question, three-hour exam.
- Official percentage weights for the eleven competencies are unpublished, so study all eleven rather than betting on one domain.
- The scored versus unscored question split is not specified, so do not assume all 150 items count toward your 70%.
- Your application must be approved first; the product also permits two retake purchases within one year of approval.
The Number: 70% on 150 Questions
If you are searching for the Certified Hospitality Trainer passing score, the answer from the current global issuer product is straightforward: 70%. The exam is specified at 150 questions with a three-hour time limit and a required proctor. The credential is administered through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI); AHLA owns the marks, and the licensed store is operated by National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC. The product is delivered under the ExamFlex label.
That is the complete set of numbers the issuer publishes about scoring. Everything else people repeat online about the score deserves skepticism, which is why this guide separates what is documented from what is not. If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, start with What Is CHT Certification? and then return here for the scoring details.
| Exam Element | Current Published Specification |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Hospitality Trainer (CHT) |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Proctor | Required |
| Content areas | Eleven published competencies |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases within one year of application approval |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
What 70% Actually Means in Practice
Taken at face value, 70% of 150 questions works out to 105 correct answers. Treat that arithmetic with care, though. The issuer's product page does not state whether all 150 items are scored or whether some are unscored items included for statistical purposes, and it does not state whether the 70% is a raw percentage or a converted result. If any items are unscored, the real number of correct answers you need could differ from 105 even though the stated threshold remains 70%.
Pacing against three hours
One hundred fifty questions in three hours gives you an average of roughly 72 seconds per question. That is a reasonable pace for scenario-style items, but it leaves little room for lingering. A practical approach is to answer what you know quickly, flag the items that require real deliberation, and return to them once you have banked the straightforward points. Because the passing standard is a percentage across the whole exam, a few time-consuming questions should never be allowed to starve the rest of the paper.
No partial credit for effort in one area
Since the issuer publishes a single overall passing score and no per-competency minimums, the stated standard is cumulative. Strength in one area can in principle offset weakness in another. Still, with official domain weights unpublished, you cannot know how much any one area contributes, so deliberately leaving a competency unstudied is a gamble with no published odds.
What the Issuer Does Not Publish
A trustworthy passing-score guide has to be honest about gaps. For the Certified Hospitality Trainer exam, the following are not specified by the current global product:
- Pass rate. The observed pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Any specific percentage you see quoted elsewhere is not backed by an issuer source. Our companion piece, CHT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, covers what can and cannot be said.
- Domain weights. The eleven competencies are published, but percentage weights, the largest weighted domain, and a dated blueprint revision year are not.
- Scored versus unscored split. Whether every one of the 150 items counts toward your result is unverified.
- Item format. Regional descriptions mention multiple-choice questions, but the current global product does not authenticate an item format, so treat it as unconfirmed.
- Adaptive status. Whether the exam adapts to your answers is not specified.
- Open-book, calculator and remote-proctoring details. These arrangements are unverified, so confirm them during scheduling instead of assuming.
The Eleven Competencies Behind the Score
Your 70% is earned across eleven published exam competencies. These are listed here in the issuer's source order, and they are exam competencies, not course titles. For a deeper walkthrough, see CHT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
1. A Case for Training and Development
The foundational argument for why a hospitality organization should invest in training at all.
- Be able to articulate the business rationale for training to skeptical operators
- Connect training activity to guest, employee and organizational outcomes
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Framing training spend as an investment rather than an expense.
- Understand how return on training is reasoned about
- Recognize how budgets and priorities shape training decisions
3. Assessing Training Needs
Determining what training is actually required before designing anything.
- Distinguish training problems from non-training problems
- Know how needs are identified at organizational, job and individual levels
4. Instructional Design
Turning identified needs into structured learning experiences.
- Work with objectives, content sequencing and delivery planning
- Match design choices to the audience and the performance gap
5. Training Tools and Techniques
The methods and materials trainers use to deliver learning.
- Select techniques that suit the content and the learners
- Understand the strengths and limits of different delivery approaches
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Determining whether training worked.
- Know how results are gathered and interpreted
- Link evaluation back to the original needs and objectives
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver training.
- Understand what makes a department-level trainer effective
- Know how trainer capability is built and sustained
8. Orientation and Socialization
Bringing new employees into the organization and its culture.
- Distinguish orientation content from ongoing socialization
- Recognize how early experience affects retention and performance
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training approaches suited to hourly, frontline hospitality staff.
- Account for scheduling, turnover and on-the-job realities
- Apply practical methods that work on the floor
10. Mentoring
Structured one-to-one developmental relationships.
- Understand how mentoring differs from direct training
- Know what makes a mentoring relationship productive
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Growing supervisors and managers into stronger leaders.
- Recognize the development needs that change as people move into management
- Connect leadership development to organizational goals
Gates That Come Before the Score
The passing score is only one checkpoint. The Certified Hospitality Trainer process includes application approval before the exam, and the application is separate from the examination itself. Reference checks are part of that process: character and employment references are checked, although the exact number of references required is unverified, so confirm it directly when you apply.
Eligibility in brief
The current global product qualifies property-level training directors, corporate-level training executives, and hospitality department heads. The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. An executive certification or a degree from an accredited institution each removes six months from that requirement. The product does not expressly confirm that the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say they waive the qualifying-position requirement, so verify before you assume. The full breakdown lives in CHT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat "70%" as the whole story. Approval of your application and verification of your references come first, and the proctor requirement means you should resolve the logistics of how you will sit the exam well before you feel ready to test.
Retakes, Cost and Planning Around the Score
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. That window is the practical safety net behind the passing score, but it is a ceiling on your attempts, not an invitation to treat the first sitting as a rehearsal. Retakes are purchased, so each one carries a cost, and the clock runs from approval of your application rather than from the day you schedule.
On cost, the current US application, study guide and exam bundle is US$530.50. The split between member and nonmember pricing and a standalone exam price are not published, so do not assume a discount you cannot verify. For a full accounting, read CHT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for timing considerations see CHT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
| Planning Item | What Is Documented |
|---|---|
| US application/study-guide/exam bundle | US$530.50 |
| Member vs. nonmember pricing | Not published |
| Retake window | Within one year of application approval |
| Retake count | Two retake purchases |
| Study material provided | English online study available |
| Suggested study estimate | Approximately forty hours (preparation guidance, not required time) |
That forty-hour figure is a provider's study estimate. It is neither mandatory training time nor exam time, and it should not be read as a promise that forty hours guarantees a pass.
A Score-Driven Study Order
Because weights are unpublished, the goal is to protect your 70% by eliminating weak spots across all eleven competencies. One compact sequencing idea, tied directly to the exam content, is to sort the competencies by how much of the reasoning they depend on. For broader preparation tactics, see CHT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Foundations: Domains 1-3
- Cover the case for training, training as an investment, and needs assessment first, because later design and evaluation questions assume you can reason from a need
- Practice distinguishing training problems from non-training problems
Design and Delivery: Domains 4-5
- Work through instructional design and the tools and techniques of delivery together
- Match methods to audiences and objectives
Measurement and Trainers: Domains 6-7
- Pair evaluation with the needs and objectives it should trace back to
- Study how trainers themselves are developed
People Programs: Domains 8-11
- Cover orientation, hourly training, mentoring, and supervisory development as a connected employee-lifecycle set
- Finish with mixed practice across all eleven areas
After the first pass, spend remaining time on whichever competencies dropped your practice scores below your comfort margin. You can pressure-test your readiness with the question sets at the main practice test site, and a quick end-stage refresher is available in CHT Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. If you are unsure how demanding the exam will feel, How Hard Is the CHT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 sets expectations without inventing numbers.
What Passing Leads To
Earning the credential starts a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204, and the issuer's renewal table specifies 50 recertification points within each five-year period. Those are points, not a blanket continuing-education-hours requirement, so do not convert them into CEU hours on your own. Plan your professional activity with the points framework in mind from the start.
Most candidates also want to know whether the effort pays off in their careers. Compensation and hiring outlook are covered in CHT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, Is the CHT Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, and CHT Jobs. The credential is aimed at property-level training directors, corporate-level training executives and department heads at hospitality companies, so the roles to look at are training and development leadership positions inside hotels, lodging companies and other hospitality operations.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current global ExamFlex product specifies a 70% passing score on a 150-question exam with a three-hour limit and a required proctor.
Not necessarily. Although 70% of 150 is 105, the issuer does not specify whether all 150 items are scored or how the result is calculated, so treat 70% as the stated standard and aim well above it in practice.
It is not publicly disclosed. Be cautious about any specific percentage you encounter, since no issuer source supports one.
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Each retake is a purchase, so plan your budget and timeline accordingly.
Official percentage weights are not published, so you cannot assume equal or unequal weighting. The safest approach is to study all eleven competencies, from A Case for Training and Development through Supervisory and Management Development.