- Which CHT This Is
- The One-Page Fact Sheet
- The Eleven Exam Competencies at a Glance
- Eligibility and Application Mechanics
- Money, Retakes, and Renewal Math
- What Is Not Published (Do Not Guess)
- Quick-Review Notes by Competency
- Sequencing Your Review Around the Eleven Competencies
- Who Values This Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHT means Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through AHLEI; the exam is 150 questions, three hours, with a 70% passing score.
- Eleven published competencies define the exam, but official percentage weights are not published, so study all eleven evenly.
- The current US bundle (application, study guide, exam) is US$530.50, and a proctor is required.
- Two retake purchases are permitted within one year of application approval.
Which CHT This Is
Several unrelated credentials share the acronym "CHT." This cheat sheet covers exactly one: the Certified Hospitality Trainer, a professional credential for people who build and run training programs inside hospitality organizations. It is offered by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). AHLA owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store where the product is sold. The exam is delivered under the product label ExamFlex.
If you are still orienting yourself, the explainer on what CHT certification is gives the broader picture. This page is the compressed, scannable version: the facts worth memorizing the night before you commit to a study plan, and the gaps worth knowing so you do not rely on rumors.
The One-Page Fact Sheet
Everything below reflects the current global issuer product as reviewed from public sources. Where the product does not state something, the table says so plainly rather than filling the gap.
| Item | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Hospitality Trainer (CHT) |
| Issuer | American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI) |
| Product / delivery label | ExamFlex |
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Published exam competencies | Eleven |
| Current US bundle price | US$530.50 (application, study guide, exam) |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases within one year of application approval |
| Renewal cycle | Five years |
| Recertification | 50 recertification points; current fee US$204 |
| Study estimate (provider) | Approximately 40 hours, which is preparation time, not exam time |
Pairing the 150-question count with the three-hour limit gives you a working pace: on average, a little over one minute per question. That is a planning heuristic derived from the published numbers, not an official pacing rule. For a deeper look at the cutoff itself, see the breakdown of the CHT passing score.
The Eleven Exam Competencies at a Glance
The current product publishes eleven examination competencies. They are listed below in source order. They are exam competencies, not course titles from some other training program, and the issuer does not publish percentage weights for them. That means no domain can be safely ignored on the strength of "it's only a small slice."
- A Case for Training and Development
- Training and Development as an Investment
- Assessing Training Needs
- Instructional Design
- Training Tools and Techniques
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Training the Trainers
- Orientation and Socialization
- Hourly Employee Training
- Mentoring
- Supervisory and Management Development
For a full walk-through of how these areas relate to one another, the complete guide to all 11 CHT content areas goes deeper. Notice the shape of the list: it starts with the business argument for training, moves through needs analysis, design, delivery, and evaluation, then widens into specific audiences (new hires, hourly staff, supervisors and managers) and development methods such as mentoring. That arc mirrors how a training function actually operates in a hotel or restaurant company.
Eligibility and Application Mechanics
CHT is not an open-enrollment exam. You apply, the application is reviewed, and approval is a separate step from sitting the test.
Who qualifies
The current global product names three qualifying positions:
- Property-level training director
- Corporate-level training executive
- Department head at a hospitality company
The stated experience requirement is one year of department-head experience. Two things can each remove six months from that requirement: holding an executive certification, or holding a degree from an accredited institution.
References and approval
Character and employment references are checked as part of the application. The exact number of references required is not confirmed in the published product, so do not assume a count from a forum post. Application approval is required before you can sit the exam, which is why the retake window is anchored to approval rather than to your first exam attempt. The full eligibility picture, including edge cases, is covered in CHT requirements, eligibility, and prerequisites.
Format of delivery
Online study in English is available, and a proctor is required for the exam. The specific remote-proctoring arrangements, whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, and whether the exam is adaptive are all unverified in the published product. Do not walk in assuming any of those; confirm the exam-day rules in your approval materials. The practical scheduling side is discussed in CHT exam dates, deadlines, and scheduling.
Money, Retakes, and Renewal Math
Upfront cost
The current US bundle bundles three things into one price: the application, the online study guide, and the exam. That price is US$530.50. Two caveats matter. First, a member versus nonmember split is not published, so do not assume a discount applies to you. Second, no standalone price (for example, exam only) is published. For the complete picture of what you may spend over the life of the credential, see the CHT certification cost breakdown.
If you don't pass first time
The product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. The clock matters: it is one year from approval, not one year from your first sitting. So a candidate who delays their first attempt burns retake runway. Plan your first attempt early enough that, if needed, a second and third attempt both fit inside the window.
Keeping the credential alive
CHT runs on a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204, and the issuer's renewal table specifies 50 recertification points within each five-year period. Note the unit carefully: it is points, not a blanket number of CEU hours. Do not convert points to hours on your own; earn and document them according to the issuer's guidance.
| Lifecycle Stage | Fact to Remember |
|---|---|
| Apply | Approval required; references checked |
| Prepare | Online English study guide; ~40 hours is a provider estimate |
| Test | 150 questions, three hours, 70% to pass, proctor required |
| Retake | Two retake purchases within one year of approval |
| Renew | Every five years; 50 points; US$204 |
What Is Not Published (Do Not Guess)
Good exam prep includes knowing which numbers you do not have. For CHT, these remain unverified or undisclosed in the current product:
- Percentage weights for each of the eleven competencies, and therefore which one is "largest."
- Blueprint revision year and any dated revision history.
- Item format (the global product does not specify it) and the split between scored and unscored questions.
- Observed pass rate. It is not publicly disclosed, which is why the CHT pass rate discussion stays qualitative.
- Exact reference count for the application.
- Whether the exam is adaptive, open-book, or calculator-friendly.
- The separate proctor vendor and the specific remote-proctoring setup.
Key Takeaway
Because weights are unpublished, a "study the big domain first" strategy has no official basis. Cover all eleven competencies to a working standard rather than betting on a guess about what dominates the exam. For a sober read on difficulty given these unknowns, see how hard the CHT exam is.
Quick-Review Notes by Competency
These notes frame what each competency is asking you to be able to do. They are orientation aids drawn from the competency names, not a claim about specific question counts or content outlines.
Competencies 1 and 2: The Business Case
"A Case for Training and Development" and "Training and Development as an Investment" together test whether you can justify a training function in business terms.
- Be ready to articulate why organizations train at all, in language an executive would accept.
- Treat training spend as an investment decision: costs, expected returns, and how to argue for budget.
- Expect scenario-style thinking about priorities and trade-offs.
Competencies 3 and 4: Diagnose, Then Design
"Assessing Training Needs" and "Instructional Design" form the analytical core.
- Distinguish a genuine training gap from a problem training cannot fix.
- Know how needs assessment feeds objectives, content, and sequencing.
- Understand how a program is structured so learners can actually apply it on the job.
Competencies 5 and 6: Deliver, Then Prove It
"Training Tools and Techniques" and "Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development" cover delivery methods and results.
- Match method to audience and objective rather than defaulting to one format.
- Know how training outcomes are measured and how evaluation closes the loop back to needs assessment.
Competency 7: Training the Trainers
This one is specific to the trainer role itself: building the skills of the people who deliver instruction, not only the learners they serve.
- Think about how an organization develops, supports, and sustains its internal trainers.
Competencies 8 through 11: Audiences and Methods
"Orientation and Socialization," "Hourly Employee Training," "Mentoring," and "Supervisory and Management Development" apply the framework to specific populations and development approaches.
- New-hire onboarding is about integration into the organization, not just paperwork or policy briefings.
- Hourly training and supervisor/manager development call for different assumptions about time, motivation, and content.
- Mentoring is its own competency, so know how it differs from formal classroom instruction.
The study materials include the guide that comes with the bundle, and for a broader plan around it, the CHT study guide walks through preparation step by step.
Sequencing Your Review Around the Eleven Competencies
If you have roughly the provider's estimated forty hours, a sensible sequence follows the logical order of the competency list rather than jumping around. Because weights are unpublished, the point of this schedule is balanced coverage, not emphasis. Treat the week boundaries as a suggestion, since the provider's estimate is not a mandate.
Foundations: Competencies 1-3
- Business case, investment logic, and needs assessment build the vocabulary everything else relies on.
- Practice separating training problems from non-training problems.
Build and Deliver: Competencies 4-6
- Instructional design, tools and techniques, and evaluation belong together because each feeds the next.
- Trace a single hypothetical program from objective to measured result.
People and Audiences: Competencies 7-11
- Train-the-trainer, orientation, hourly training, mentoring, and supervisory development are best learned by comparing audiences side by side.
- Finish with mixed review across all eleven, since the exam does not announce which one a question belongs to.
When you want to test recall under realistic conditions, run timed sets from the CHT practice test and hold yourself to the 150-questions-in-three-hours rhythm so the clock feels familiar.
Who Values This Credential
CHT sits in the training-and-development lane of hospitality rather than a front-line operations lane. The qualifying positions themselves signal the target audience: property-level training directors, corporate training executives, and department heads at hospitality companies. Those are the roles most likely to value the credential, and they are the roles the eligibility rules are written around.
Because the credential presupposes department-head-level experience, it tends to function as a recognition of an existing leadership and training role rather than an entry ticket. If you are weighing it against your own career path, the ROI analysis for CHT and the CHT salary guide lay out how to think about the return without relying on invented figures. You can also browse what the market looks like at CHT jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current global product specifies 150 questions and three hours, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The item format and the scored versus unscored split are not specified by the product.
It is the current US bundle covering the application, the online study guide, and the exam. A member versus nonmember split and a standalone exam price are not published.
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Because the window starts at approval, schedule your first attempt with enough runway for retakes if you need them.
The issuer publishes the eleven competency names but not percentage weights, and no largest domain is identified. Prepare across all eleven rather than assuming one dominates.
CHT renews on a five-year cycle. The issuer's renewal table specifies 50 recertification points, and the current official recertification fee is US$204. Points should not be converted into CEU hours on your own.