- Why There Is No Fixed CHT Testing Calendar
- Who Runs the Certified Hospitality Trainer Exam
- The Real Sequence: Application, Approval, Then Exam
- What We Can and Cannot Confirm About Scheduling
- Exam-Day Specifications to Plan Around
- The Retake Window and Your Calendar
- Building Your Own Timeline Backward From Exam Day
- Scheduling Study Time Across the 11 Competencies
- After You Pass: The Five-Year Clock
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Certified Hospitality Trainer is sold as an application, study guide and exam bundle, currently US$530.50 in the US store.
- Application approval comes first; a retake allowance runs for one year from application approval, so approval date matters.
- The current global ExamFlex product specifies 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- No fixed public calendar of CHT testing windows or registration deadlines has been verified; confirm dates with the issuer.
Why There Is No Fixed CHT Testing Calendar
Candidates searching for "CHT exam dates 2026" often expect a neat table of quarterly windows, registration cutoffs and results-release days. For the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential, that table has not been verified in the public sources we reviewed, and we are not going to invent one. A page that lists made-up deadlines is worse than no page, because candidates plan around it.
What the public product materials do establish is a process: you buy a bundle that includes an application, an online study guide and the exam, your application must be approved, and the exam itself is delivered under the ExamFlex label with a required proctor. Your effective "exam date" is therefore something you build from those pieces rather than a date you pick from a published national schedule.
This article walks through what is confirmed, what is not, and how to build a realistic timeline around the gaps. If you are still working out whether this credential fits your career, start with What Is CHT Certification? and then return here for scheduling.
Who Runs the Certified Hospitality Trainer Exam
The credential comes from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store where the bundle is sold. The exam product is labeled ExamFlex. The product listing requires a proctor, but the specific proctoring vendor has not been verified, and neither have the particulars of any remote-proctoring arrangement.
That layered structure explains why scheduling details are not found on one tidy public page. Product terms live on the store listing, recertification rules live in a separate issuer knowledge base, and the proctor arrangement is handled during the approval-and-scheduling flow. For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see What Is CHT?
The Real Sequence: Application, Approval, Then Exam
Think of your timeline as four gates rather than one date.
- Confirm eligibility. The current global product qualifies property-level training directors, corporate-level training executives and hospitality department heads. The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. An executive certification removes six months, and a degree from an accredited institution also removes six months. The product does not expressly say the two reductions can be combined, so do not assume they stack. Our CHT requirements guide covers eligibility in depth.
- Purchase and submit the application. The current US bundle (application, study guide and exam) is US$530.50. The member versus nonmember split and any standalone exam price are not published.
- Pass application review. Approval is required before you can sit the exam. Character and employment references are checked, though the exact reference count is not confirmed.
- Schedule and sit the proctored exam. This is the step most people think of as "the exam date," and it is the one that depends on approval being complete.
Because approval is a separate gate, the single biggest scheduling mistake is buying the bundle the week you hope to test. Reference checks depend on other people responding, and you should treat that step as the unpredictable one.
What We Can and Cannot Confirm About Scheduling
| Scheduling Question | Status |
|---|---|
| Is approval required before testing? | Yes, application approval is required |
| Is a proctor required? | Yes, per the current global product |
| Are fixed national testing windows published? | Not verified in reviewed sources |
| Are registration deadlines published? | Not verified in reviewed sources |
| Is remote proctoring available? | Specific arrangements unverified |
| Is the exam adaptive? | Unverified |
| Is the exam open-book or calculator-permitted? | Unverified |
| Is English online study available? | Yes |
| Retake purchases allowed? | Two, within one year of application approval |
Anywhere the table says "unverified," the honest advice is to ask the issuer or the store before you commit money or take time off work. Questions worth asking in writing: what testing locations or proctoring methods are available to you, how long approval typically takes, and whether there is a deadline between approval and your first sitting.
Exam-Day Specifications to Plan Around
The current global ExamFlex product specifies the following:
- 150 questions
- Three hours of testing time
- 70% passing score
- A required proctor
Do the arithmetic for pacing: three hours across 150 questions is roughly 72 seconds per question if you spend your time evenly. That is a planning figure, not a rule, and it matters mainly because scenario-style questions about training design will take longer than recall questions about definitions. The product does not specify the item format or the split between scored and unscored questions, and a regional multiple-choice description should not be treated as the confirmed global format. See our CHT passing score guide for how the 70% threshold translates into question counts and why that conversion needs care.
The Retake Window and Your Calendar
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. This is the one genuinely date-driven rule in the public materials, and it changes how you should think about timing: the clock is tied to your approval date, not the date you first sit the exam.
Practical consequences:
- If you get approved and then wait many months to test, you have quietly consumed part of your retake window before attempting the exam at all.
- If you fail a first attempt, the remaining time in that one-year window is what limits how long you can spend rebuilding weak areas.
- Plan your first sitting so there is room for at least one retake without rushing, even if you fully expect to pass.
The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so you cannot lean on a statistic to decide how much buffer to leave. Our CHT pass rate article explains what is and is not known, and How Hard Is the CHT Exam? offers a qualitative view of where candidates tend to struggle.
Key Takeaway
Treat your approval date as day one of a one-year retake window. Schedule your first attempt early enough that a second and third attempt remain realistic.
Building Your Own Timeline Backward From Exam Day
Since no national calendar is confirmed, build your own. Work backward from the date you want to hold the credential.
Step 1: Set the credential deadline
Decide why you need the credential by a certain date: a promotion cycle, a performance review, a job application, or a training-department restructuring. That target anchors everything else.
Step 2: Add buffer for approval
Because references and employment verification involve third parties, add generous slack between submitting your application and your intended first exam sitting. Gather your reference contacts and employment details before you buy, so the only waiting is on other people, not on you.
Step 3: Add buffer for scheduling
Proctored exams can have limited availability, and the specific proctoring arrangements are unverified. Ask early what your options are rather than discovering a constraint after you have finished studying.
Step 4: Reserve a retake cushion
Count one year forward from expected approval and make sure your plan leaves room for a retake inside that window. This is cheap insurance, especially since two retake purchases are allowed.
Step 5: Budget for the whole path
The bundle price is only part of the picture. Retake purchases, and later the recertification fee, add to total cost. Our CHT certification cost breakdown lays out what is published and what is not.
Scheduling Study Time Across the 11 Competencies
The exam covers eleven published competencies, listed here in the issuer's order. Percentage weights and the largest-weighted domain are not published, so do not allocate study time based on a rumored weighting. Instead, group the competencies by how they connect, which also makes the material easier to retain.
Foundations: why and how much
- A Case for Training and Development
- Training and Development as an Investment
- Assessing Training Needs
Design and delivery
- Instructional Design
- Training Tools and Techniques
- Training the Trainers
Programs for specific audiences
- Orientation and Socialization
- Hourly Employee Training
- Mentoring
- Supervisory and Management Development
Proof and review
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Full-length timed practice against the 150-question, three-hour format
The reasoning: needs assessment feeds instructional design, design feeds tools and delivery, and evaluation closes the loop by asking whether the training worked. Studying them in that chain mirrors how a trainer actually works. Saving evaluation for the end means you review it with the full picture in mind, then use remaining time for timed practice. Spread the blocks across however many weeks your timeline allows; the one thing to protect is the final timed run-through. For a competency-by-competency walkthrough, see CHT Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Where to Slow Down
Several of these competencies sound similar in the abstract but ask different questions on the exam.
- Training the Trainers is about developing instructors, not about delivering a class yourself.
- Orientation and Socialization concerns bringing new hires into the organization, distinct from Hourly Employee Training, which concerns building job skills for frontline staff.
- Mentoring and Supervisory and Management Development both involve growing people, but one is a relationship-based method and the other is a program for a specific career tier.
These are exam competencies, not course titles from any other hospitality credential, so resist the urge to study from materials built for a different certification. Our CHT study guide and one-page cheat sheet are organized around the eleven competencies above, and you can pressure-test your pacing with the practice questions on our main practice test site.
After You Pass: The Five-Year Clock
Scheduling does not end on exam day. The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle. Current issuer guidance specifies 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter, with a current official recertification fee of US$204. These are recertification points, not a blanket number of continuing-education hours, so do not convert them to hours on your own. Check the issuer's renewal table for what earns points.
A sensible habit: put the five-year renewal date in your calendar the day you pass, then log qualifying activities as you complete them rather than hunting for documentation in year five. If you are weighing whether the long-term upkeep is worthwhile, see Is the CHT Certification Worth It? and the CHT salary guide for the earnings picture. Candidates thinking about who hires credentialed trainers can browse CHT jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed national calendar of testing windows or registration deadlines has been verified in the public product materials. Your timing depends on purchasing the bundle, receiving application approval, and scheduling a proctored sitting. Confirm current availability with the issuer or store before planning around a specific date.
Yes. Application approval is required, and the application includes character and employment references. The exact number of references required has not been confirmed, so check the application itself.
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Because the window starts at approval rather than at your first attempt, avoid long delays between approval and testing.
The current global ExamFlex product specifies 150 questions, three hours and a 70% passing score, with a required proctor. The item format and the scored versus unscored split are not specified by that product. See our CHT exam dates overview and the passing score guide for more.
The credential follows a five-year renewal cycle. Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within each five-year period, with a current recertification fee of US$204. Points should not be automatically converted into continuing-education hours.