- What CHT Actually Means Here
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- Who the Certification Is Built For
- Eligibility and Application Mechanics
- The Exam at a Glance
- The Eleven Examination Competencies
- Cost, Retakes and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
- Where the Credential Fits in Hospitality Careers
- What the Issuer Has Not Published
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHT here means Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI).
- The current global exam product lists 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- The published US bundle (application, study guide and exam) is US$530.50; renewal is every five years.
- Eleven published competencies run from "A Case for Training and Development" to "Supervisory and Management Development."
What CHT Actually Means Here
If you searched "what is CHT," you may have landed on several unrelated credentials, because the same three letters are used in more than one professional field. This article is about exactly one of them: the Certified Hospitality Trainer. It is a professional certification for people who design, deliver, evaluate and manage training inside hospitality organizations, such as hotels, resorts and lodging companies.
Nothing on this page applies to any other credential that shares the acronym. If you are weighing the Certified Hospitality Trainer against other options, or you simply want a plain-language definition first, our companion pages on what CHT stands for and the meaning of CHT cover the terminology, and the CHT certification overview gives the broader picture.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The certification is issued by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed online store where the product is sold. The product is delivered under the ExamFlex label, which is the official product and delivery name. A separate proctoring vendor is involved in administering the exam, but the issuer's current product page does not name that vendor, so do not assume a particular testing network until you reach the scheduling step.
Study materials are available online in English. That matters for candidates who want to prepare on their own schedule rather than attend scheduled classroom sessions.
Who the Certification Is Built For
The current global product describes three qualifying roles:
- Property-level training directors, who run training for a single hotel or lodging property.
- Corporate-level training executives, who set training strategy across multiple properties or a brand.
- Hospitality department heads, who manage a department and carry responsibility for developing its people.
Notice what this audience has in common: they all own outcomes for how a workforce learns. This is not a front-line, entry-level credential. The eleven examination competencies reflect that, covering the business case for training, return on investment, program evaluation, and management development alongside hands-on instructional skills. For a deeper look at how the credential compares with the effort it demands, see our ROI analysis.
Eligibility and Application Mechanics
The certification involves an application that must be approved before you can proceed. The exam itself is a separate step. Three elements of the application are worth understanding up front.
Experience requirement
The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. Two things each remove six months from that requirement: holding an executive certification, or holding a degree from an accredited institution. The issuer's product page does not expressly say the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say they waive the requirement to hold one of the qualifying positions. If your situation depends on stacking them, confirm with the issuer before you buy.
References
Character and employment references are checked as part of the application. The exact number of references required is not confirmed in the sources reviewed for this article, so read the current application instructions at checkout rather than relying on a number you saw elsewhere.
Application approval is its own gate
Approval is a step distinct from the exam. Your retake window, discussed below, runs from the date of approval, which makes the timing of your application more consequential than it first appears. Our CHT requirements guide walks through qualifying in more detail, and our scheduling guide covers timing.
The Exam at a Glance
The current global issuer product specifies the following:
| Feature | What the current global product states |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases permitted within one year of application approval |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Item format and scored/unscored split | Not specified by the current product |
That last row deserves emphasis. Some regional descriptions of this exam call it multiple choice. The current global product page does not confirm an item format, so treat any description of the question style as unverified until you see the official candidate instructions. Likewise, whether the test is open-book, whether a calculator is allowed, which remote-proctoring arrangements are supported, and whether the exam is adaptive all remain unconfirmed.
The 70% threshold is explained further in our passing score guide. On a 150-question exam, 70% would mean answering 105 questions correctly if every question counts, but because the scored/unscored split is not published, you should not treat that arithmetic as official. Candidates curious about relative difficulty can read our difficulty guide, and those hunting for success statistics should see what the data shows, which explains why no observed pass rate can be cited.
The Eleven Examination Competencies
The issuer publishes eleven examination competencies. They are listed below in the order the issuer presents them. These are exam competencies, not course titles from any other certification, and the issuer does not publish percentage weights for them. Do not trust any source that claims a precise weight for any of the eleven, or names a "largest" domain, because the official blueprint weights and revision year are not available.
1. A Case for Training and Development
The business argument for investing in people.
- Articulating why training matters to operations, guest experience and retention
- Framing training as a strategic function rather than an overhead cost
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Treating training spend as something that must justify itself.
- Costs, benefits and expected returns of training programs
- Making the financial case to ownership and executives
3. Assessing Training Needs
Diagnosing what training is actually required before building anything.
- Distinguishing training problems from management or systems problems
- Gathering information about gaps in knowledge, skill and performance
4. Instructional Design
Turning identified needs into structured learning experiences.
- Setting objectives and sequencing content
- Matching methods to learners and goals
5. Training Tools and Techniques
The practical delivery toolkit.
- Selecting methods and materials suited to the audience and content
- Applying techniques that fit hospitality workplaces
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Proving that training worked.
- Evaluating learning, behavior and business results
- Using evaluation findings to improve programs
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver training.
- Building facilitation capability in departmental and peer trainers
- Supporting consistency of delivery across a property or company
8. Orientation and Socialization
Bringing new employees into the organization effectively.
- Designing onboarding that goes beyond paperwork
- Helping new hires understand culture and expectations
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training for the large front-line workforce typical of hospitality.
- Approaches suited to shift-based, high-turnover environments
- Building job skills efficiently for hourly roles
10. Mentoring
Structured one-to-one development relationships.
- Setting up and sustaining mentoring arrangements
- Understanding how mentoring complements formal training
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Growing the next layer of leaders.
- Developing supervisors and managers as people leaders
- Aligning leadership development with organizational needs
For a deeper treatment of each area, see our complete guide to the CHT content areas.
Key Takeaway
The competencies fall into a logical arc: justify training (1-2), diagnose and design (3-5), prove it worked (6), then apply it to specific populations and levels (7-11). Studying them in that order mirrors how a real training function operates and makes the material easier to retain.
Cost, Retakes and Renewal
What you pay
The current US bundle, which combines the application, study guide and exam, is listed at US$530.50. A member/nonmember price split and a standalone exam price are not published, and unnamed backend price tiers are not mapped to membership categories, so do not assume you will see a discount without confirming it at checkout. For the budgeting picture beyond the sticker price, see our CHT certification cost breakdown.
If you need another attempt
The product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. The clock starts at approval, not at your first exam attempt, so plan your first sitting with that window in mind.
Keeping the credential current
Certification runs on a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204. Renewal is expressed in points: the issuer's guidance specifies 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter, and expressly includes the Certified Hospitality Trainer among the credentials covered. Those points should not be converted into a blanket number of continuing-education hours, because the issuer does not define that equivalence.
| Item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Application, study guide and exam bundle (US) | US$530.50 |
| Recertification fee | US$204 |
| Renewal cycle | Five years |
| Recertification requirement | 50 recertification points |
| Retake purchases | Two within one year of application approval |
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
Because the issuer does not publish weights, you cannot responsibly skip an area on the theory that it is lightly tested. A balanced plan that follows the competency arc is safer. Here is one way to sequence it, using the roughly 40-hour provider estimate only as a loose planning reference, not a requirement:
The business case
- Competencies 1 and 2: why training matters and how to treat it as an investment
- Practice articulating costs and returns in your own property's terms
Diagnose and design
- Competencies 3, 4 and 5: needs assessment, instructional design, tools and techniques
- Map a real training request to the full sequence from need to delivery
Evaluate and build trainers
- Competencies 6 and 7: measuring results and training the trainers
- Draft an evaluation plan for a program you know well
Populations and leaders, then review
- Competencies 8 through 11: orientation, hourly training, mentoring, supervisory and management development
- Finish with timed practice across all eleven areas
For a fuller preparation framework, our CHT study guide covers the process, and the one-page cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, try the practice tests on the main site.
Where the Credential Fits in Hospitality Careers
The qualifying roles tell you where the credential is most relevant: property-level training directors, corporate training executives and hospitality department heads. Employers in this space are typically hotel and lodging operators, management companies and brands that run structured training functions. The issuer's materials do not publish hiring statistics, so any claim about how many employers require the credential, or what it adds to pay, should be treated cautiously. Our overview of CHT-related roles and the salary guide discuss these questions qualitatively.
If you are comparing this credential to the day-to-day trainer role itself, the CHT training page explains how preparation relates to practice.
What the Issuer Has Not Published
A responsible candidate knows the limits of the available information. As of the sources reviewed for this article, the following remain unverified:
- Percentage weights for each of the eleven competencies, and which one is largest
- The date of the most recent exam blueprint revision
- The scored versus unscored question split
- The current item format on the global product
- An observed pass rate
- Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, and which remote-proctoring arrangements are supported
- The exact number of references required
- Whether the two experience-requirement reductions can be combined
When a site tells you any of these with confidence and no citation, be skeptical. Verify against the issuer's current product page before making decisions that cost money or time.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Hospitality Trainer, a professional certification issued through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute. The same acronym is used by unrelated credentials in other fields, which this article does not cover.
The current global product specifies 150 questions in three hours, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The scored/unscored split and item format are not specified by that product.
The published US bundle of application, study guide and exam is US$530.50. A member/nonmember split and standalone price are not published. Recertification is currently US$204 every five years.
The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience, in a qualifying role such as property-level training director, corporate training executive or hospitality department head. An executive certification or an accredited degree each removes six months, though combining them is not expressly confirmed.
Renew every five years. The issuer's guidance specifies 50 recertification points within each five-year cycle, along with the current US$204 fee. Points are not automatically equivalent to continuing-education hours.
Understanding what the credential is, who it serves and what remains unpublished puts you in a strong position to decide whether to pursue it. When you are ready to start building knowledge across the eleven competencies, the practice questions on our main site are a practical next step.