- The Short Answer: A Credentialed Training Professional
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- Who Is Eligible to Pursue It
- What the Exam Actually Looks Like
- The Eleven Examination Competencies
- Cost, Application, and Retake Mechanics
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
- Keeping the Credential Current
- Where the Credential Fits in a Hospitality Career
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHT here means Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through AHLEI, and it is unrelated to other credentials sharing the acronym.
- The current global exam product lists 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score, and a required proctor.
- Eligibility centers on one year of department-head experience in a qualifying training or department-head role.
- The published US bundle price is $530.50, and two retake purchases are permitted within one year of application approval.
The Short Answer: A Credentialed Training Professional
A CHT, in this context, is a Certified Hospitality Trainer: a hospitality professional who has earned a certification demonstrating competence in designing, delivering, and evaluating training inside lodging and food-service organizations. The credential is about the craft of workforce development in hospitality, from justifying a training budget to mentoring a new supervisor.
If you landed here because you searched for "CHT" and saw unrelated results, that confusion is common. The same three letters are used by several unrelated credentials in entirely different fields. Everything on this page concerns the hospitality training certification only. If you want a broader orientation first, our overview of what CHT certification is covers the same ground from a slightly different angle, and the explainer on what CHT stands for addresses the acronym question directly.
The certification is aimed at people who are responsible for training outcomes rather than people who simply attend training. Think of the director who builds an orientation program for a new property, the corporate executive who decides how a brand's service standards get taught, or the department head who coaches line employees every day. The credential signals that the holder understands training as a managed business function, not an afterthought.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The Certified Hospitality Trainer credential comes from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) owns the marks associated with the program, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store through which the product is sold. In practice, that means you purchase through a storefront run by a licensed operator, while the credential itself carries the AHLEI identity.
The delivery product is labeled ExamFlex. That label describes the official product and delivery arrangement, and the product requires a proctor. The specific proctoring vendor and the exact remote-proctoring arrangements are not confirmed in the public product listing, so check the current product page before you assume how and where you will sit the exam.
Who Is Eligible to Pursue It
The current global product describes qualifying positions as property-level training director, corporate-level training executive, or department head at a hospitality company. The stated experience requirement is one year of department-head experience. Two things can shorten that: holding an executive certification removes six months, and holding a degree from an accredited institution also removes six months.
There is an important caveat. The product does not explicitly say the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say that either reduction waives the qualifying-position requirement. If you hold both a degree and an executive certification, contact the issuer before assuming you can stack them. Our detailed walkthrough of CHT requirements, eligibility, and prerequisites goes deeper on how to document your background.
The Application Is Separate From the Exam
Eligibility is not self-certified. Application approval is required, and the application includes character and employment references that are checked. The exact number of references is not confirmed in the public product description, so confirm it when you begin the application. The key point is sequencing: approval of your application and the exam itself are distinct steps, and the retake window described below is tied to the approval date.
What the Exam Actually Looks Like
The current global ExamFlex product specifies the following:
| Exam Element | What the Current Global Product States |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases permitted within one year of application approval |
| Item format | Not specified by the current product |
| Scored versus unscored split | Not specified by the current product |
| Published pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Several details that candidates often ask about are simply not confirmed in the public listing: whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is allowed, whether it is adaptive, and how remote proctoring is arranged. Some regional descriptions of the exam mention multiple-choice questions, but that description should not be treated as an authenticated specification for the current global product. Plan to verify the item format and testing rules on the official product page at the time you buy.
Because the pass rate is not disclosed, any number you see quoted online should be treated skeptically. Our page on the CHT pass rate explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the guide to the CHT passing score clarifies what the 70% threshold means in practice.
The Eleven Examination Competencies
The current global product publishes eleven competencies that define what the exam covers. These are exam competencies, not course titles, and the issuer has not published percentage weights for them. That means no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most points, and a dated blueprint revision is not available either. Treat all eleven as fair game. For a longer treatment, see our complete guide to all 11 CHT content areas.
1. A Case for Training and Development
Why training deserves organizational investment in the first place.
- Be able to articulate how training connects to service quality, retention, and operating results
- Expect to reason about the consequences of under-investing in people development
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Framing training spend as a managed investment rather than an expense.
- Understand how to justify budgets and weigh costs against expected returns
- Know how investment thinking changes the conversation with owners and executives
3. Assessing Training Needs
Diagnosing what training is actually required before building anything.
- Distinguish training problems from non-training problems such as unclear standards or poor tools
- Understand how needs are identified at the organization, job, and individual level
4. Instructional Design
Turning identified needs into structured learning.
- Write clear learning objectives and align content and activities to them
- Sequence material so adult learners can apply it on the job
5. Training Tools and Techniques
Selecting delivery methods that fit the audience and the skill.
- Match methods such as demonstration, role play, and coaching to the skill being taught
- Recognize the strengths and limits of different instructional tools
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Proving whether training worked.
- Understand levels of evaluation, from learner reaction to business results
- Know how evaluation feeds back into improving the program
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver training.
- Understand what makes a department trainer effective and how to prepare them
- Expect scenarios about standardizing how trainers teach across a property or brand
8. Orientation and Socialization
Bringing new hires into the organization effectively.
- Distinguish orientation content from longer-term socialization into the culture
- Think about how early experiences affect retention
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training the front-line workforce that delivers the guest experience.
- Understand practical approaches to skill training for hourly roles
- Consider constraints unique to hospitality, such as shift schedules and turnover
10. Mentoring
Using one-to-one developmental relationships as a training tool.
- Know how mentoring differs from instruction and from supervision
- Understand what makes a mentoring relationship productive
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Preparing line leaders and managers for greater responsibility.
- Understand how development needs change as employees move into leadership
- Expect questions about building a pipeline of future managers
Key Takeaway
These eleven competencies follow a logical arc: justify training, diagnose needs, design and deliver it, measure results, and then apply the whole system to specific audiences such as new hires, hourly staff, and managers. Studying them in that arc makes the later topics easier because they reuse the earlier frameworks.
Cost, Application, and Retake Mechanics
The published current US bundle, which includes the application, study guide, and exam, is $530.50. The listing does not publish a member versus nonmember split or a standalone exam price, and unnamed backend price tiers should not be assumed to map to membership categories. Budget against the bundle figure and confirm any discount on the purchase page. Our CHT certification cost breakdown lays out how to think about the total outlay, including renewal.
The sequence looks like this:
- Review your eligibility against the qualifying positions and the one-year department-head experience standard.
- Purchase the bundle through the licensed AHLEI store.
- Complete the application, including character and employment references.
- Receive application approval, which starts the one-year window tied to retake purchases.
- Use the English online study materials to prepare.
- Sit the proctored exam: 150 questions, three hours, 70% to pass.
If you do not pass, the product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Because that clock begins at approval rather than at your first attempt, it rewards candidates who schedule their first sitting promptly instead of letting approval sit idle. For testing windows and scheduling logistics, see CHT exam dates and deadlines.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
Since the issuer publishes no weights, spread your effort evenly rather than gambling on a favorite topic. A sensible order mirrors the logic of the competencies themselves. Here is one way to map them to a six-week plan, assuming you work through the issuer's study guide alongside practice questions:
Foundations and Needs
- Cover A Case for Training and Development and Training and Development as an Investment so the business logic is solid
- Move into Assessing Training Needs, which every later domain builds on
Design, Delivery, and Measurement
- Work through Instructional Design, Training Tools and Techniques, and Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development together, since they form one cycle
- Tackle Training the Trainers while delivery concepts are fresh
Audience-Specific Applications and Review
- Study Orientation and Socialization, Hourly Employee Training, Mentoring, and Supervisory and Management Development as applications of the earlier frameworks
- Finish with timed mixed sets sized to the real exam: 150 questions in three hours
Pacing matters on exam day: three hours for 150 questions leaves roughly a minute and a half per item, so rehearse at that speed. For a fuller plan, our CHT study guide builds on this structure, and you can also pressure-test your readiness with the practice questions on the main CHT practice test site.
Keeping the Credential Current
The certification runs on a five-year renewal cycle. Current issuer guidance expressly lists CHT among credentials that require 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. The current official recertification fee is $204.
Note the terminology. The issuer's renewal table specifies recertification points, and those points should not be automatically converted into CEU hours or described as a blanket CEU-hour requirement. When you plan your professional development, check how the issuer awards points for a given activity rather than assuming an hour-for-point equivalence.
Where the Credential Fits in a Hospitality Career
The roles named in the eligibility criteria also tell you who tends to value the credential: property-level training directors, corporate training executives, and department heads at hospitality companies. Hotels, resorts, restaurant groups, and brand corporate offices all run training functions, and the certification gives those leaders a recognized way to document expertise in a discipline that is otherwise hard to verify from a job title alone.
Because training spans every department, the credential can be relevant to people whose titles do not say "trainer," such as a rooms division director who owns onboarding for a large team. Whether it pays off for you depends on your employer, your market, and your goals. We do not quote salary figures here because the issuer publishes none and we will not guess. For a structured way to think about the decision, read our ROI analysis of the CHT certification, and browse CHT jobs for the kinds of roles where the credential tends to be relevant. If earnings are your focus, the CHT salary guide explains what can and cannot be stated responsibly.
Frequently Asked Questions
It means Certified Hospitality Trainer, a credential issued through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI) for hospitality professionals responsible for training and development. It is not related to other credentials that happen to share the same acronym.
The current global ExamFlex product specifies 150 questions, a three-hour time limit, and a 70% passing score, with a required proctor. The item format and the scored versus unscored split are not specified by that product.
Qualifying positions are property-level training director, corporate-level training executive, or department head at a hospitality company, with one year of department-head experience. An executive certification or an accredited degree each removes six months, though stacking both is not expressly confirmed.
The published current US bundle covering the application, study guide, and exam is $530.50. The product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. A member versus nonmember split and a standalone price are not published.
The credential renews every five years and requires 50 recertification points, with a current official recertification fee of $204. The points requirement should not be treated as a flat number of CEU hours.
In short, the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential is a focused, issuer-backed way for hospitality leaders to show mastery of eleven training and development competencies. Confirm the current exam rules on the official product page, build your plan around all eleven areas since weights are unpublished, and use the CHT practice tests to find your gaps before the proctor starts the clock.