- What the CHT Certification Actually Is
- Who Issues It and How the Purchase Works
- Eligibility: Roles, Experience and Reductions
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The Eleven Exam Competencies
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
- Retakes, Renewal and Recertification Points
- Who Benefits Most From the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHT means Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through AHLEI, and it is unrelated to other credentials sharing the acronym.
- The current global product lists 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- The published US bundle price is $530.50, covering application, study guide and exam.
- Eleven published competencies run from the case for training through supervisory and management development.
What the CHT Certification Actually Is
The CHT certification is the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential, a professional designation aimed at people who design, deliver and manage training inside hospitality organizations. It is not a general teaching license, and it is not a departmental skills certificate for line employees. It targets the person who owns the training function: the property-level training director, the corporate training executive, or the department head who is accountable for developing a team.
A note on terminology matters here. The letters "CHT" are shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields. Everything on this page concerns only the Certified Hospitality Trainer designation. If you are comparing sources, check that the credential name is spelled out, because exam fees, eligibility rules and content outlines differ completely between credentials that happen to share three letters. For a plain-language orientation to the name itself, see What Does CHT Stand For? and What Is CHT Certification?.
The credential is distinct from departmental trainer programs aimed at front-line instruction in a single department. The CHT examines the discipline of training itself: making the business case, diagnosing needs, building instruction, measuring results and developing other trainers and leaders. That focus shapes everything about how you should prepare, a point developed in the competency breakdown below.
Who Issues It and How the Purchase Works
The credential comes from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The American Hotel & Lodging Association owns the marks, and the licensed online store is operated by National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC. The delivery product is labeled ExamFlex. A separate proctoring vendor is part of the experience, but the specific vendor is not verified in the published product information, so confirm it during checkout rather than assuming.
The current US offering is a bundle containing the application, the online study guide and the exam. The published bundle price is US$530.50. Two details are worth stating plainly because candidates often assume otherwise:
- A member versus nonmember price split is not published, so do not budget around a discount you cannot confirm.
- A standalone exam price is also not published, so the bundle figure is the only number you can safely plan around.
The study material is delivered online in English. The product describes an approximately forty-hour study guide, but that figure is a provider estimate of preparation time. It is not mandatory training time and it is not the length of the exam. For the full financial picture, including recertification, see the CHT certification cost breakdown.
Eligibility: Roles, Experience and Reductions
The current global product qualifies three kinds of candidates: property-level training directors, corporate-level training executives, and hospitality department heads. The stated experience requirement is one year of department-head experience. Two reductions are described:
| Credential or Background | Effect on the Experience Requirement |
|---|---|
| Executive certification | Removes six months |
| Degree from an accredited institution | Removes six months |
| Both combined | Not expressly confirmed as stackable |
That last row is the one candidates most often get wrong. The product does not state that the two reductions can be added together, and it does not say that either reduction waives the qualifying-position requirement. In other words, a degree might shorten the time you need, but it does not turn a non-qualifying role into a qualifying one. If you are borderline, treat the published language conservatively and confirm with the issuer before paying. The detailed walk-through lives in the CHT requirements guide.
What the Exam Looks Like
The current global CHT ExamFlex product specifies the following:
- 150 questions
- Three hours of exam time
- 70% passing score
- A required proctor
Several details are deliberately left unstated by the current product, and an honest preparation plan should not paper over them. The item format, the split between scored and unscored questions, whether the exam is adaptive, and whether it is open-book or permits a calculator are all unverified. You may encounter regional descriptions calling the exam multiple-choice. That description is not promoted here to a confirmed current global specification, so prepare for substantive content mastery rather than betting on a particular question style. Specific remote-proctoring arrangements are likewise unverified.
The observed pass rate is not publicly disclosed, which means any pass-rate figure you see quoted informally should be treated with suspicion. The CHT pass rate article covers what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the CHT passing score guide explains how to interpret the 70% threshold. If you want a sense of the experience before committing, the practice test hub lets you rehearse timed question sets.
The Eleven Exam Competencies
The current global product publishes eleven actual exam competencies. Percentage weights for these competencies are not published, so no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most questions. Treat all eleven as live territory. They are listed below in the order the issuer presents them, and they are exam competencies rather than course titles, so expect to be tested on applying the ideas rather than recalling chapter headings. The complete treatment is in the CHT exam domains guide.
1. A Case for Training and Development
The foundation: why organizations invest in developing people at all.
- Articulating the business rationale for training to skeptical leaders
- Connecting training to retention, service quality and organizational goals
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Framing training spend as an investment with expected returns rather than an overhead cost.
- Thinking in terms of costs, benefits and payback
- Defending a training budget with evidence
3. Assessing Training Needs
Diagnosing what training is actually required before building anything.
- Distinguishing performance gaps that training can fix from those it cannot
- Gathering and interpreting needs-assessment information
4. Instructional Design
Turning identified needs into structured learning experiences.
- Setting learning objectives that drive content and assessment
- Sequencing material so learners can build skills progressively
5. Training Tools and Techniques
Selecting delivery methods and materials suited to the audience and objective.
- Matching method to content, group and setting
- Understanding the strengths and limits of common training approaches
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Proving whether training worked.
- Evaluating learner reaction, learning, behavior and results
- Using evaluation findings to improve the next cycle
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver instruction.
- Building facilitation skill in subject-matter experts
- Coaching and assessing trainer performance
8. Orientation and Socialization
Bringing new hires into the organization effectively.
- Distinguishing orientation content from deeper cultural socialization
- Structuring the early employee experience
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training the front-line workforce that defines guest experience in hospitality.
- Practical, skills-focused instruction suited to busy operational settings
- Reinforcing standards on the floor
10. Mentoring
Using structured mentoring as a development channel.
- Setting up and sustaining mentor relationships
- Understanding what mentoring adds beyond formal classroom training
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Preparing frontline supervisors and managers for broader leadership responsibility.
- Building the capabilities people need as they move up
- Aligning leadership development with succession needs
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
Because the weights are unpublished, a sensible plan gives each competency attention and uses the order of dependency to decide what to study first. The early competencies supply vocabulary that the later ones assume: you cannot evaluate training well (competency 6) without having internalized objectives from instructional design (competency 4), and you cannot defend an investment (competency 2) without the case-making logic from competency 1. The approximately forty-hour study guide is a reasonable anchor, though remember that it is a provider estimate, not a requirement.
The business case and the investment logic
- Work through A Case for Training and Development and Training and Development as an Investment together
- Practice explaining training value in terms a finance-minded executive would accept
Diagnose, then design
- Cover Assessing Training Needs, then Instructional Design
- Write objectives for a sample hospitality training topic and trace them back to a needs finding
Delivery and measurement
- Study Training Tools and Techniques and Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Pair every delivery method with how you would evaluate its effectiveness
People development tracks
- Cover Training the Trainers, Orientation and Socialization, and Hourly Employee Training
- Map each onto a real property or department you know
Growth and leadership, then full review
- Finish with Mentoring and Supervisory and Management Development
- Take timed 150-question sets and revisit your weakest competencies
This five-week arrangement is only a sketch. Compress or stretch it to fit your calendar, and see the CHT study guide for a fuller treatment of resources. For last-minute review, the CHT cheat sheet condenses the must-know points.
Retakes, Renewal and Recertification Points
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. That window starts at approval, not at your first exam attempt, so a long delay before sitting the exam eats into the time available for retakes. Plan your testing date with that clock in mind. Scheduling specifics are in the CHT exam dates guide.
Once certified, the credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204. The issuer's renewal guidance expressly includes CHT among credentials that require 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. Note the careful wording: these are recertification points, not a blanket continuing-education-hour requirement, and they should not be automatically converted into CEU hours. Check the issuer's point table to see which activities earn credit.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Bundle price (US) | $530.50 |
| Exam length | 150 questions, three hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Retake purchases | Two, within one year of application approval |
| Renewal cycle | Five years |
| Recertification fee | $204 |
| Recertification requirement | 50 points per cycle |
Who Benefits Most From the Credential
The CHT fits people whose job is to build capability in others within hospitality operations. That includes training directors at hotels and resorts, corporate learning and development leaders at multi-property companies, and department heads who run substantial in-house training for their teams. Because the eligibility rules center on department-head-level experience, the credential signals seniority in the training function rather than entry-level competence.
For employers, the value is a recognized benchmark for evaluating training leaders. Roles that commonly sit near this credential include training and development directors, learning and development managers and corporate trainers; you can explore the landscape on the CHT jobs page. Earnings questions are addressed in the CHT salary guide, and the broader decision of whether to pursue it is weighed in Is the CHT Certification Worth It?. Since no verified salary figures are published for this credential, rely on those analyses for qualitative guidance rather than a single headline number.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam weights are unpublished and the item format is unverified, the safest preparation is broad, scenario-driven mastery of all eleven competencies. Build the habit of explaining why a training decision is right, not just what the term means, and test yourself under timed conditions on the practice platform before exam day.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute. The same letters are used by unrelated credentials in other industries, so always confirm the full name. See What Is A CHT? for more.
The current global product specifies 150 questions over three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The scored versus unscored split and the exact item format are not specified by that product.
The published current US bundle covering the application, study guide and exam is $530.50. A standalone exam price and a member versus nonmember split are not published. Recertification carries an official fee of $204.
Yes. The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Because the clock begins at approval, avoid delaying your first attempt for too long.
Certification renews on a five-year cycle and requires 50 recertification points per cycle, along with the $204 official fee. The points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement, so consult the issuer's renewal table for qualifying activities.