- The Short Answer: Certified Hospitality Trainer
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- What the Title Signals to Employers
- The Eleven Competencies Behind the Name
- Who Qualifies to Use the Letters
- How the Exam Works
- Cost, Retakes and Renewal
- Where the Letters Appear in Hospitality Careers
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
- Frequently Asked Questions
- In this context, CHT stands for Certified Hospitality Trainer, a credential for hospitality training professionals.
- The exam covers eleven published competencies, from Instructional Design to Supervisory and Management Development.
- The current global product lists 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- The current US bundle (application, study guide and exam) is US$530.50; recertification is US$204 every five years.
The Short Answer: Certified Hospitality Trainer
On this site, CHT stands for Certified Hospitality Trainer. It is a professional credential aimed at people who design, deliver and manage training inside hotels, restaurants and other hospitality operations. The letters identify someone who has applied for the credential, been approved, and passed an examination built around the discipline of workplace training and development.
That is a narrow, specific meaning, and it matters because the same three letters are used elsewhere in the working world. If you landed here from a search for the acronym, the rest of this article explains what the hospitality version covers, who earns it and what it takes to hold it. For adjacent explainers, see our guides to what CHT is, CHT meaning and what a CHT is as a professional title.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Several unrelated credentials and job titles share the same three letters. Some belong to entirely different professions with different certifying bodies, different exams and different career paths. None of them has anything to do with hospitality training.
The practical consequence is that a generic web search for the acronym returns a mix of results. Fees, exam dates, pass rates and salary figures you find in a casual search may describe a different credential altogether. When you are researching the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential, verify that any page you rely on names the hospitality training context, the hospitality industry body behind it, and training-and-development subject matter. If a page talks about clinical settings, medical equipment or patient treatment, it is describing something else.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The Certified Hospitality Trainer program comes from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store through which the product is sold. The exam is delivered under the ExamFlex product label.
Two details are worth noting for candidates:
- ExamFlex is the official product and delivery label. The separate proctoring vendor has not been verified in the public product information, so do not assume a particular testing platform until your approval materials name one.
- Because the credential is issued through a hospitality educational institute rather than a general-purpose testing company, its content is anchored in how hotels and restaurants actually train people, not in abstract corporate learning theory.
What the Title Signals to Employers
The word order in the name tells you what the credential is claiming. Certified means a third party has verified your qualifications and tested your knowledge. Hospitality places the expertise inside lodging, food service and related guest-facing operations. Trainer identifies the function: building capability in other people.
For an employer, the letters are shorthand for a candidate who has been checked on both experience and knowledge. The application process reviews character and employment references, and the exam tests the full lifecycle of training work, from making the business case for training through measuring whether it worked. That combination is the reason the credential tends to matter most for people already responsible for developing staff. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis of the CHT certification and the CHT salary guide take that question further, and CHT jobs covers the roles where it appears.
The Eleven Competencies Behind the Name
A credential name is only meaningful if the exam content backs it up. The current global product publishes eleven examination competencies. They are listed below in source order. The issuer has not published percentage weights for them, so treat every one as fair game rather than assuming some are minor.
1. A Case for Training and Development
Why training deserves organizational investment and how to argue for it.
- Connecting training to operational and guest-service outcomes
- Positioning the trainer as a strategic contributor
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Treating training spend as something that should be justified and tracked.
- Cost and benefit reasoning for training programs
- Communicating value to decision-makers
3. Assessing Training Needs
Determining what training is actually required before building anything.
- Distinguishing training problems from other performance problems
- Gathering and interpreting needs data
4. Instructional Design
Structuring learning so it achieves defined objectives.
- Learning objectives and program structure
- Matching content to learners
5. Training Tools and Techniques
Selecting delivery methods and materials that suit the audience and the skill being taught.
- Choosing among instructional methods
- Using aids and activities effectively
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Finding out whether training changed anything.
- Evaluating learning and on-the-job results
- Using findings to improve programs
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver training.
- Building facilitator skills
- Sustaining a pool of capable in-house trainers
8. Orientation and Socialization
Bringing new hires into the organization effectively.
- Structuring an onboarding experience
- Helping new employees absorb culture and expectations
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training the front-line workforce that makes up much of hospitality staffing.
- Skills-focused, practical instruction
- Approaches suited to varied schedules and roles
10. Mentoring
Using guided, relationship-based development alongside formal training.
- Structuring mentor and protégé relationships
- Supporting growth outside the classroom
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Preparing supervisors and managers for leadership responsibility.
- Building leadership capability
- Linking development to career progression
These are exam competencies, not course titles, and they should not be confused with the topics of departmental-trainer programs that sit under a different credential. For a deeper walkthrough of how to study each area, read our complete guide to all 11 CHT content areas.
Who Qualifies to Use the Letters
You cannot simply buy an exam seat and sit it. The credential requires application approval, and the application reviews character and employment references. The exact number of references required has not been verified in the public product information, so confirm that detail when you apply.
Qualifying Positions
The current global product identifies three kinds of qualifying roles:
- Property-level training director
- Corporate-level training executive
- Department head at a hospitality company
Experience Requirement and Reductions
The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. Two things can each remove six months from that requirement: an executive certification, or a degree from an accredited institution. The product does not explicitly confirm that the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say that either reduction waives the qualifying-position requirement. If you hold both an eligible certification and a degree, ask the issuer directly before assuming you can stack them.
How the Exam Works
The current global ExamFlex product specifies the following:
| Feature | What the Current Product Specifies |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | Three hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Study format | English online study available |
| Prerequisite step | Application approval required |
Several details are not specified in the current product information, and it is better to say so plainly than to guess:
- The item format and the split between scored and unscored questions are not stated by the current global product. Regional descriptions of multiple-choice items should not be treated as an authenticated current specification.
- Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are permitted, what specific remote-proctoring arrangements apply, and whether the exam is adaptive have all not been verified.
- The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see quoted elsewhere is not something the issuer has published. See our CHT pass rate article for how to think about this gap.
One common point of confusion: the study guide is described by a provider as roughly forty hours of preparation. That is an estimate of study effort, not mandatory training time and not the length of the exam. The exam itself is three hours. For the scoring threshold specifically, see CHT passing score, and for realistic difficulty expectations, read how hard the CHT exam is.
Cost, Retakes and Renewal
Upfront Cost
The current US bundle, which combines the application, study guide and exam, is US$530.50. The member and nonmember split and any standalone price have not been published, so do not assume a discount applies to you without checking the store. The detailed breakdown lives in our CHT certification cost guide.
Retakes
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. That window starts at approval, not at your first exam attempt, so a long gap between approval and sitting the exam shortens the time available for retakes.
Staying Certified
The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204. The issuer's renewal guidance expressly includes the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential among those requiring 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. Those are points, not a blanket number of continuing-education hours, and they should not be converted to CEU hours automatically. Check how your specific activities are credited before assuming a given course counts.
| Item | Current Figure |
|---|---|
| Application, study guide and exam bundle (US) | US$530.50 |
| Retake purchases allowed | Two, within one year of application approval |
| Renewal cycle | Five years |
| Recertification fee | US$204 |
| Recertification requirement | 50 recertification points |
Where the Letters Appear in Hospitality Careers
Because the qualifying positions are property-level training directors, corporate-level training executives and department heads, the people most likely to hold the credential work in settings where structured training is a defined responsibility. That includes hotel and resort properties with dedicated training functions, multi-property or corporate hospitality organizations with centralized learning teams, and restaurant and food-service companies that need consistent onboarding and supervisor development across locations.
On a resume or professional profile, the letters communicate that you manage training as a discipline rather than as an add-on to another job. Hiring managers reviewing candidates for training director or learning-and-development leadership roles in hospitality can read them as evidence of both tenure (the department-head experience requirement) and tested knowledge (the examination). For role-level detail, see CHT jobs, and for the broader picture of what the program involves, CHT certification and what CHT certification is give additional context.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies
Because the issuer has not published domain weights, a sensible plan treats all eleven competencies as examinable and orders them by how they build on each other. One logical progression follows the training lifecycle:
Foundations and Justification
- A Case for Training and Development
- Training and Development as an Investment
- Assessing Training Needs
Design and Delivery
- Instructional Design
- Training Tools and Techniques
- Training the Trainers
Audiences and Programs
- Orientation and Socialization
- Hourly Employee Training
- Mentoring
- Supervisory and Management Development
Evaluation and Full-Length Practice
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Timed run through 150 questions in three hours
The reasoning: needs assessment feeds design, design feeds delivery, and evaluation closes the loop, so studying in that order helps the later material make sense. Saving evaluation for last also lets you use it as a lens when reviewing everything else. The three-hour, 150-question format works out to roughly a minute and 12 seconds per question, so practicing under that pace before exam day is worthwhile. Our CHT study guide expands on this approach, and the CHT cheat sheet is useful for last-pass review. You can also pressure-test your knowledge with the CHT practice tests on the main site.
Key Takeaway
Do not guess at which competencies matter most. Weights are unpublished, so build broad competence across all eleven, and use timed practice at the 150-question, three-hour pace to confirm you can finish comfortably.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Hospitality Trainer, a credential for hospitality professionals who design, deliver and manage workplace training. It comes through AHLEI, with AHLA owning the marks. See also our page on what CHT stands for.
No. Other unrelated credentials and job titles share the acronym, but they have different certifying bodies and different subject matter. The Certified Hospitality Trainer credential is specific to training and development in hospitality, and its fees, exam details and requirements apply only to it.
The current global product publishes eleven competencies, beginning with A Case for Training and Development and ending with Supervisory and Management Development. They include Instructional Design, Assessing Training Needs, Mentoring and Hourly Employee Training. Percentage weights are not published.
The current global product specifies 150 questions, three hours and a 70% passing score, with a required proctor. The scored versus unscored split and the exact item format are not specified by that product.
The current US application, study guide and exam bundle is US$530.50. Renewal runs on a five-year cycle with a current recertification fee of US$204 and a requirement of 50 recertification points, which should not be treated as a CEU-hour count.
Understanding what the letters stand for is the first step; the next is deciding whether your role and experience fit the qualifying positions. Start with the eligibility requirements, confirm your timeline with the exam dates and scheduling guide, and use the practice test site to measure your readiness across all eleven competencies.