- What "CHT Training" Actually Covers
- Who Is Positioned to Train for the Credential
- The Eleven Competencies You Train Against
- What the Training Package Contains
- Exam Mechanics You Should Plan Around
- Sequencing the Competencies Across Your Prep
- Preparing for the Exam vs. Running Training at Work
- After You Pass: Staying Certified
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHT means Certified Hospitality Trainer, issued through AHLEI; the current US bundle of application, study guide and exam is US$530.50.
- The current global exam product specifies 150 questions, three hours, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- Eleven published competencies define the exam, from "A Case for Training and Development" to "Supervisory and Management Development."
- The roughly forty-hour study estimate is preparation time only, not a required course or the exam's length.
What "CHT Training" Actually Covers
People searching for "CHT training" usually mean one of two things: the preparation needed to earn the Certified Hospitality Trainer credential, or the professional training discipline the credential certifies. This article addresses both, because the exam is built around the second and your preparation is the first.
Certified Hospitality Trainer is a credential from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). AHLA owns the marks, and National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC operates the licensed store where the product is sold. The delivery label is ExamFlex, which bundles the application, an online study guide and the exam into a single purchase. If you want the full definition before going deeper, see What Is CHT Certification? and What Does CHT Stand For?.
One point of clarity matters here: the acronym is shared by unrelated credentials in other fields. Everything in this article concerns the hospitality training credential only. Its subject matter is how to build, deliver and measure training inside hotels, restaurants and other hospitality operations, which makes it very different from a departmental skills course.
Who Is Positioned to Train for the Credential
Before you spend on preparation, confirm you can actually be approved. Application approval is a required step, and it is separate from sitting the exam. The current global product qualifies these roles:
- Property-level training directors
- Corporate-level training executives
- Hospitality department heads
The stated requirement is one year of department-head experience. An executive certification or a degree from an accredited institution each removes six months from that requirement. The product does not explicitly confirm that the two reductions can be combined, and it does not say they waive the qualifying-position requirement itself, so treat stacking as unconfirmed and check with the issuer before you assume it.
The application also involves character and employment references. The exact number of references is not verified in the published product information, so confirm it when you begin the application. For a deeper walkthrough of eligibility, read CHT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The Eleven Competencies You Train Against
The current global issuer product publishes eleven examination competencies. They appear below in source order. Official percentage weights, the largest weighted domain and a dated blueprint revision are not published, so no ranking of importance is reliable. Plan to be competent across all eleven rather than betting on a few. For a longer treatment, see CHT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
1. A Case for Training and Development
The foundation: why a hospitality organization should invest in training at all.
- Connecting training to service quality, retention and operational consistency
- Building the argument you would make to ownership or a general manager
2. Training and Development as an Investment
Treating training spend as something that must justify itself.
- Cost-versus-return thinking applied to programs
- Positioning training as a business function rather than an expense line
3. Assessing Training Needs
Diagnosing the gap before prescribing a solution.
- Distinguishing a training problem from a staffing, tooling or management problem
- Gathering evidence on who needs what
4. Instructional Design
Turning identified needs into structured learning.
- Writing objectives that can be observed and measured
- Sequencing content so skills build on one another
5. Training Tools and Techniques
Selecting the right delivery method for the content and the audience.
- Matching methods to learning goals
- Knowing when a technique fits a skill and when it does not
6. Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
Proving whether training worked.
- Evaluating learning, behavior change and business impact
- Using results to revise programs
7. Training the Trainers
Developing the people who deliver instruction.
- Building facilitation skills in department staff
- Creating a repeatable standard for in-house trainers
8. Orientation and Socialization
Getting new hires productive and connected.
- Designing onboarding that conveys culture as well as procedure
- Reducing early turnover through a deliberate first experience
9. Hourly Employee Training
Training the front-line workforce that drives guest experience.
- Skill-based instruction for high-volume, high-turnover roles
- Reinforcement and on-the-job practice
10. Mentoring
Structured one-to-one development relationships.
- Setting up and sustaining mentoring programs
- Pairing and role expectations for mentors and mentees
11. Supervisory and Management Development
Growing the next layer of leaders.
- Building leadership capability in supervisors and managers
- Linking development to succession and promotion paths
What the Training Package Contains
The ExamFlex product is a bundle: application, online study guide and exam. English online study is available. The current US bundle price is US$530.50. The member versus nonmember split and any standalone price for individual components are not published, and unnamed backend price tiers are not mapped to membership categories, so avoid assuming a discount applies to you. For a full cost picture including renewal, see CHT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
| Element | What the published product states |
|---|---|
| Issuing body | AHLEI (AHLA owns the marks; NRA Solutions, LLC operates the store) |
| Bundle | Application, study guide and exam, US$530.50 (US) |
| Study format | Online, English |
| Study time estimate | About forty hours, a preparation estimate only |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases permitted within one year of application approval |
| Proctor | Required |
That forty-hour figure deserves emphasis. It is a provider's estimate of how long study takes. It is not mandatory training time and it is not the exam duration. You may need less or more depending on how much of your daily work already overlaps with instructional design and evaluation.
Exam Mechanics You Should Plan Around
The current global CHT ExamFlex product specifies 150 questions, a three-hour time limit, a 70% passing score and a required proctor. Those four figures are the ones you can rely on. For more on the score threshold, see CHT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Several details are simply not specified by the current product, and honest preparation means acknowledging that rather than guessing:
- Item format: Not specified for the current global product. Do not assume a particular question style.
- Scored versus unscored split: Not specified.
- Adaptive status: Not specified.
- Open-book or calculator rules: Unverified.
- Remote-proctoring arrangements: Unverified, and the separate proctor vendor is unverified.
- Observed pass rate: Not publicly disclosed.
Because the pass rate is undisclosed, any difficulty claim you read elsewhere is opinion rather than data. The sensible approach is to prepare against the eleven competencies and use practice questions to find your weak areas. Our pieces on how hard the CHT exam is and what the pass rate data shows discuss what can and cannot be said responsibly.
Key Takeaway
Because the item format is not specified for the current product, drill concepts and decision-making rather than memorizing a presumed question style. Application of the competencies to realistic hospitality scenarios is the safer preparation.
Sequencing the Competencies Across Your Prep
This is the one place where structure helps. Because the weights are unpublished, the logic below sequences by dependency: later competencies assume you understand earlier ones. The pacing is illustrative; adjust it to your own roughly forty-hour budget and schedule.
Build the business case
- A Case for Training and Development
- Training and Development as an Investment
- These set the vocabulary of return and justification used throughout the rest
Diagnose and design
- Assessing Training Needs
- Instructional Design
- Do these back to back, since design decisions flow directly from needs analysis
Deliver and evaluate
- Training Tools and Techniques
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development
- Pair delivery with evaluation so you learn to judge methods by results
Audiences and people development
- Training the Trainers, Orientation and Socialization, Hourly Employee Training
- Mentoring, then Supervisory and Management Development
- Finish with full-length practice under three-hour conditions
Hold back the last stretch for timed 150-question practice, since pacing across three hours is itself a skill. You can run realistic sets on the CHT practice test site, and our CHT study guide covers a fuller approach. A one-page recap is available in the CHT cheat sheet.
Preparing for the Exam vs. Running Training at Work
A common trap for experienced trainers is relying on workplace habits instead of the credential's framework. You may run excellent onboarding at your property, yet a question asks you to choose the best step in a needs assessment or the strongest way to evaluate a program. The credential rewards systematic reasoning, so map your real-world experience onto each competency rather than assuming it already matches.
Where experienced trainers tend to be strong
- Hourly Employee Training and Orientation and Socialization, because they live there daily
- Training Tools and Techniques, from hands-on delivery
Where they often need deliberate review
- Training and Development as an Investment, which is financial and strategic rather than instructional
- Measuring and Evaluating Training and Development, where informal feedback is not the same as structured evaluation
- Assessing Training Needs, where the instinct to jump to a solution can undermine the diagnosis
The credential also matters for employers weighing who to hire or promote into training leadership. If you are considering whether it suits your career path, see Is the CHT Certification Worth It?, CHT Jobs and CHT Salary Guide 2026. Hiring appetite is strongest where an operation values structured, measurable training: hotel companies, restaurant groups and corporate learning teams.
After You Pass: Staying Certified
The credential runs on a five-year renewal cycle. The current official recertification fee is US$204. Issuer guidance expressly includes CHT among the credentials requiring 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter. Those points should not be converted automatically into CEU hours; follow the issuer's renewal table rather than assuming an equivalent hour count.
Plan renewal activity early. Since training professionals generate development activity naturally, keep records as you go instead of reconstructing them near the deadline. For scheduling and deadline questions, see CHT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The roughly forty-hour figure is a provider's study estimate, not mandatory training time. You must be approved through the application, but the published product does not require completing a set course before sitting the exam.
The current global ExamFlex product specifies 150 questions over three hours, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The item format and scored versus unscored split are not specified by that product.
The current US bundle of application, study guide and exam is US$530.50. A member versus nonmember split and a standalone price are not published, so confirm at checkout. Renewal carries a separate US$204 recertification fee.
The current product permits two retake purchases within one year of application approval. Use your results and practice sets to identify which of the eleven competencies need more work before rebooking.
Renewal is on a five-year cycle and requires 50 recertification points, per issuer guidance, plus the US$204 fee. Points are not a blanket CEU-hour requirement and should not be converted automatically into hours.